Chapter 1-2: Skill Scroll Commemorating the Defeat of One Million Blue Slimes

The Blue Slime shouldn’t drop anything other than magic stones, as stated in the pamphlet… So why did it drop a scroll?

For now, I’ll pick up the magic stones and put them in my pocket before grabbing the scroll.

– “A commemorative item for reaching a total of 1 million Blue Slime subjugations worldwide.”

– “You can learn the skill 【Spatial Magic】, would you like to utilize the skill scroll?”

As soon as I touched the scroll, a system announcement echoed in my head. It’s mentioning the skill 【Spatial Magic】. Indeed, this must be a skill scroll. It’s quite lucky that I get to receive the commemorative 1 millionth subjugation reward.

Should I sell the skill scroll? Well, having options in case of sudden danger is always better. Since the qualifications I gained from 【Qualification Master】 can’t be changed for 24 hours, having various skills is essential so that I can respond to any kind of scenario.

Moreover, this is a special skill scroll commemorating the 1 millionth Blue Slime subjugation worldwide. There’s no way that the magic that it grants is weak.

(I’ll use it.)

As I think that, the parchment emits a bright white light and seamlessly enters my body. I don’t feel anything, but does this mean that I’ve learned 【Spatial Magic】?

Well, let’s experiment for now. When it comes to 【Spatial Magic】, this should be the first thing to try.

“【Item Box – Storage】”

I imagine a huge storage shelf with a single open drawer placed in an infinite space. The magic name is, of course, none other than 【Item Box】.

The items to be stored are the Blue Slime’s magic stones, which are still currently in my pocket. As I imagine placing the Blue Slime’s magic stones into the huge storage drawer, I feel a force, something that can only be expressed as ‘power’—let’s call it ‘mana’—diminishes slightly from my body, and my pocket also simultaneously feels lighter. When I peek into my pocket, the three Blue Slime magic stones have indeed disappeared.

“【Item Box – List】”

I cast a spell again, this time while imagining opening the drawer of the storage shelf and checking the contents.

– Blue Slime Magic Stones ×3

The list of stored items appears in my mind with everything in order. It seems viewing doesn’t consume any magic power. Now, all that’s left is to retrieve said items from the storage.

“【Item Box – Retrieve】”

While imagining taking out the three Blue Slime magic stones from the opened drawer and putting them back into my pocket, I chant the spell. Just like when I was storing the magic stones, I feel my mana slightly diminish, while simultaneously the weight of my pockets increase. Upon checking, the three Blue Slime magic stones are back in my pocket.

“All right, it worked.”

It seems that I’ve successfully learned the 【Item Box】 magic! With this, I won’t have trouble transporting items.

It’s not a large problem now, but if I continue to be an explorer, transportation will eventually become an issue. If there were teleportation points or something similar inside the dungeon, that would negate the issue, but if not, exploring the depths of the dungeon would require bringing in a large amount of supplies, and after exploration, there would be the need to carry out a large number of dropped items. That would be a very labor-intensive task, and if I ever become an explorer at that level, I would seriously consider hiring someone specialized in transporting items.

However, the 【Item Box】 magic solves that problem as it uses magic power for item transportation. Also, the capacity is probably infinite, and I don’t feel the weight of the stored items at all. Therefore, I can bring in as many supplies as I want, and I can carry out as many dropped items as I need.

…However, for some reason, I feel like I can’t stop time for the stored items. The space inside is basically at normal temperature, pressure, and humidity. One second here is equivalent to one second in the infinite space there. Trying to change that… probably would continuously consume a tremendous amount of mana. Realistically thinking, that would be quite challenging.

Non-perishable food may rot, but even after considering that, it’s undoubtedly a convenient magic. Since 【Spatial Magic】 itself seems to have a wide range of applications, I might come up with more convenient uses in the future.

The Blue Slime… it definitely dropped a great item. Perhaps I’ve used up all my luck for this year and the next.

“Hmm? Come to think of it…”

When I used the 【Item Box】 just now, it consumed mana. It was a small amount, but I certainly felt something diminish.

However, when I used the 【Light Bullet】 or the 【Ruby Laser】, I didn’t feel anything. Especially with the 【Ruby Laser】, even though it was clearly a powerful magic, I felt nothing in terms of my mana.

…Could it be thanks to the reduced consumption effect of 【Qualification Master】? If that’s the case, maybe I’ve drawn a more powerful gift than I thought.

“Now then…”

After all my pondering, I finally take a good look at my surroundings. The inside of the dungeon looks like a typical cave, with a dungeon gate behind and a small plaza in front. I’m currently located in the plaza, but it doesn’t seem to be a safe zone, as monsters, although only non-active Blue Slimes, are entering the plaza (though they don’t pose much of a threat).

And then, there are three paths extending from the plaza. One path where the two Blue Slimes appeared leads directly to the front of the gate, and there is one path each to the left and right. Each direction leads to a slightly curved path, but I can’t see beyond that.

Now, which way should I go… but before that.

I should have realized before entering the dungeon, but if I’m going to explore the floors seriously, I need to create a map. Since the first floor only has Blue Slimes, it’s not a big problem if I get lost… but if I get lost on a floor with powerful monsters, it could lead to fatal consequences. I should really practice this skill on this floor where there isn’t much of a threat.

I could look to try mapping everything out on paper, but if possible, I’d like to solve it with magic. I have a rough idea of how to do it… but would it be possible?

Well, let’s try it for now.

“【Flow…】”

While placing a huge map in the infinite space and imagining drawing the entire map of the first floor, I began to mutter the magic name. The next moment.

“What!?!”

A tremendous chill runs through my spine. Instinct strongly applied the brakes, warning me that ‘This magic must never be activated.’

Somehow, I feel that if I activate this magic, it will lead to unfavorable consequences. At worst, I might die. What I felt was a very intense sense of rejection.

Is ruin awaiting fools who don’t know their place in magic…?

There’s no helping it; let’s change the focus a bit. How about mapping only the visible area instead of the entire first floor?

…I don’t particularly feel any rejection. For now, it seems fine.

“【View Mapping】”

I reflected only the information within my visible range onto the map. Surprisingly, I was able to also pick up all the information outside of my field of vision as well, and a three-dimensional map was completed. Now, in my mind, a map of the area near the plaza appears in three dimensions.

“It worked this time… but it’s definitely a bit consuming.”

The three-dimensional map was completed in an instant, but the mana consumption was quite significant. Intuitively, if I were to chant this nine more times, my mana would likely run out.

Well, that’s fine. If I can’t reach the stairs by my ninth mapping, I’ll call it quits for the day.

Now then, let’s gather my spirits and move onward. There are three directions, but which one should I choose…

“… Maybe the path to the right.”

I had a feeling that going to the right would be a good choice, so I decided to proceed in that direction. I wonder if the stairs to the next floor are located there…

Previous Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1-2: Skill Scroll Commemorating the Defeat of One Million Blue Slimes

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started