Chapter 1-1: Is【Qualification Master】Strong?

“…【Qualification Master】?”

As I stand in the dungeon with its cave-like appearance surrounding me, the mechanical voice from earlier—let’s call it the “System Announcement” from now on—echoes. Apparently, I received something called 【Qualification Master】 as a Gift, but what does it actually do?

As I contemplate, thoughts about how to utilize this 【Qualification Master】 start forming in my mind.

– Qualifications are limited to nationally recognized qualifications defined by Japan.

– Only one qualification can be set at a time, and its corresponding effects are activated when the qualification is set.

– If the holder or a party member possesses 【Qualification Master】, the mana consumption when using the effects associated with that qualification is significantly reduced.

– Once set, a qualification cannot be replaced until 24 hours have passed.

– As the Gift grows, the number of qualifications that can be set simultaneously increases.

– Using the effects of set qualifications enhances them over time.

To sum it up, it’s like this.

“…Huh.”

The fact that national qualifications can enhance my abilities is quite an intriguing effect. Also, due to the nature of my ability, it seems that if I or my companions set qualifications that we possess, we won’t expend much energy.

Logically, the more challenging the qualification is to acquire, the more significant its effect is likely to be. First-class architect or lawyer qualifications would likely be powerful… well, it feels like acquiring something as challenging as that is beyond my reach. Besides, if one had such qualifications, I would assume it would be more secure and lucrative to utilize them in a regular job rather than being an explorer.

By the way, the qualifications I currently possess are…

– Class 2 Electrician

– Fundamental Information Technology Engineer

Both obtained during university, and neither was particularly difficult (though the practical exam for Class 2 Electrician was a bit of a hassle).

Oh, and I also have a driver’s license. It’s just a plain old medium-sized vehicle license, automatic only, so I’m not expecting much from its effects.

Now, which one should I choose…? Huh? Oh, I can check the effects beforehand. That’s convenient.

Qualification: Class 2 Electrician

Effect: Able to use lightning attribute magic, nullifies damage from lightning attribute attacks

Qualification: Fundamental Information Technology Engineer

Effect: Able to use light attribute magic, nullifies damage from light attribute attacks

Expressed in a status window-like manner, those were my qualifications. As the lady at the counter predicted, 【Qualification Master】 seems to be related to magic.

“So, should I go with light or lightning?”

In general, I can imagine lighting magic having much more raw power due to its nature. However, since light attributes can include healing magic, I feel like it’s the safer choice. Now, what to do…

“… Let’s go with light.”

If healing magic does indeed come with light magic, it could be useful in emergencies, so let’s set it to Fundamental Information Technology Engineer.

Set: Fundamental Information Technology Engineer

【Qualification Master】 is now set to Fundamental Information Technology Engineer. Now, I should be able to use light magic…

“Oh, here comes a perfect target.”

“… (Poyon)”

From around the corner, a bluish soft-bodied creature slowly emerges. It should be a Blue Slime, as characterized by its appearance.

A monster that appears on all layers of all dungeons, considered the weakest among monsters. It’s a non-active monster and doesn’t attack explorers. While it’s unknown what they eat, some explorers have seen them consuming things created outside the dungeon—like paper or plastic bags—, digesting them. Hence, Blue Slimes are also known as the ‘dungeon janitors.’

However, weak or not, it’s still a monster, so it poses a danger. The bluish body is highly acidic, and weapons quickly deteriorate when used against them. Therefore, frontline fighters tend to avoid engaging them. Of course, direct contact with a Blue Slime would likely result in the skin being burned by the acid.

“Well, I’m a magician, so it shouldn’t matter.”

The pamphlet mentioned that Blue Slimes have no particular elemental resistances, and that their health is low, making them susceptible to being defeated in a single magic strike. Given their slow movement, Blue Slimes seem to be perfect targets for testing magical shots.

Relying on this information from the pamphlet, I aim my staff at the approaching Blue Slime. The distance is about 10 meters… The Blue Slime appears to be roughly the size of a human head, but will my aim be true?

“Magic relies on imagination.”

As the pamphlet mentioned, I imagined the scene of a fist-sized white light bullet shooting from the staff straight towards the Blue Slime. If I were to name this magic…

“【Light Bullet】”

As I chanted the magic name, a white light bullet, just as imagined, shot straight towards the Blue Slime.

*Bash!*

With a sound like something bursting, the Blue Slime was pierced. Struck right in the center, it couldn’t maintain its gel-like form and melted away into the ground. Only a small, transparent bead-like magic stone remained.

Defeating monsters in dungeons leaves only their drop items behind, and apparently, this mysterious stone called a ‘magic stone’ is one such drop item. It has a quite low resale value, but I’ll be sure to put it in my pocket without forgetting.

By the way, magic stones can be used as an energy source. I don’t know the details, but they can be used directly as fuel for power plants, providing clean energy without generating carbon dioxide. Additionally, it’s said that larger and more colorful magic stones have higher energy content.

“Well, the small and pale magic stone from a Blue Slime probably won’t provide much energy. It’s bought for 10 yen each, but that won’t even get you a popsicle stick. It’s no wonder frontline fighters avoid fighting them. Since Blue Slimes don’t drop anything other than magic stones, using weapons against them results in a significant loss.”

“Now, there are more Blue Slimes over there.”

Ahead on the path, I spot two Blue Slimes bouncing around. It seems that the first layer of any dungeon is inhabited solely by Blue Slimes, and no matter how many of these 10-yen monsters I defeat, my pockets will still be just as empty as before.

Should I aim for the next floor? On the second floor, Black Bats and Horn Rabbits are said to appear. The quality of magic stones is rumored to improve, along with higher purchase prices and the possibility of additional drop items. However, both of these monsters are active, meaning they actively attack once they recognize your presence.

“Wait, I don’t even know where the staircase down is.”

To go to the second layer, I need to find the staircase down somewhere in the first layer. Yet, I entered the dungeon without any knowledge of where that staircase might be. A smart move on my part.

Well, I have some savings, so I won’t run into any financial trouble immediately. Let’s just consider today as a day for getting used to the dungeon and mastering magic. While looking for the staircase down, I’ll focus on hunting Blue Slimes for now.

“…”

Having decided that, I targeted the Blue Slimes in my line of sight. Since using the same magic feels dull, let’s try something new.

This time… yes, when talking about light, it’s definitely a laser. Amplified laser light produces heat capable of melting even metal.

While imagining directing that heat towards the two Blue Slimes, I cast the spell.

“【Ruby Laser】”

Consciously focusing on the heat, a thin red laser shot from the staff. The laser easily pierced the left Blue Slime and continued its trajectory to the right, incinerating the second Blue Slime. With a single strike, both Blue Slimes evaporated.

Stopping the laser, there was a black mark on the dungeon floor. It must have been quite a high temperature. Unlike when using Light Bullet, the Blue Slimes fully evaporated, indicating that   【Ruby Laser】 has far greater power and attack range.

Oh, and I shouldn’t forget to check the drop items. After defeating the Blue Slimes, two magic stones were there… Huh? There’s one more thing.

“…Eh, a scroll?”

A rolled-up parchment tied with a string lay on the floor.


To all readers:

Thank you very much for reading my novel from the multitude available on Narou.

I have a request for all readers.

I would like your honest judgment, so please give a star rating at the bottom of the page.

Even one star is fine, so please, I ask for your cooperation.

Previous Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1-1: Is【Qualification Master】Strong?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started