Chapter 1-5: Ears on the Walls and Eyes on the Doors

After passing through the gate, I returned back to the original Dungeon Barricade. I didn’t notice it when entering the dungeon, but there’s definitely a distinct difference in the atmosphere between inside and outside the dungeon.

“Ah, Mr. Onda. Thank you for your first dungeon exploration.”

“Yes, well, I somehow managed to return safely. Can I exchange the drop items here?”

“I’m sorry, but we cannot handle exchanges here. You can exchange them at the counter over there, so please bring them there when you can.”

“I see.”

I climbed the stairs and approached the receptionist at the entrance counter… but it seems that I can’t exchange my drop items here.

It would be much more convenient if they allowed it… I wonder if it’s a legal issue. In terms of legal interpretation, dungeon exploration is considered entertainment, and drop items may be treated as special prizes given to explorers by the Dungeon Exploration Development Organization. Which is why you probably can’t exchange them other than at the organization.

So, the counter over there is probably operated by a third party completely unrelated to the Dungeon Exploration Development Organization. It seems like a desperate measure to comply with the law, but it’s quite troublesome.

“How was the dungeon exploration?”

Oh, right, I need to report the gift.

“As expected, it was fortunate that the gift was related to magic. I was able to practice using it with the Blue Slimes. Oh, by the way, my gift is called【Qualification Master】.”

“Thank you for the report, you seem to have gotten quite a unique gift.”

“As of now, I only have three qualifications, so it’s quite embarrassing. As I continue to explore, I’ll look to acquire more challenging qualifications.”

“Yes, please do your best.”

With a smile—probably a business smile—the receptionist saw me off as I headed to the exchange office. Despite being in the same building, it felt amusing how the Organization emphasized its lack of connection with walls and doors clearly separating the spaces.

“Welcome. So, you’re a first-time dungeon explorer today? How many monsters did you defeat?”

The person at the exchange office was a friendly middle-aged man with a somewhat unique way of speaking.

…Well, he’s indirectly saying he knows about me. I much rather would have preferred if he just stated that he knew about me outright though.

“Yes, that’s correct. I defeated 9 Blue Slimes, 1 Horn Rabbit, and 2 Black Bats.”

“Oh, you reached the second floor on your first dungeon exploration. And if you managed to defeat that many Blue Slimes, you must be a magic type, correct? Impressive that you could hit the Black Bats with magic.”

“I had confidence in my imagination. I cast a magic that makes light bullets burst and split.”

“I see, an area-of-effect attack, huh? Well thought out!”

The middle-aged man laughed heartily and I showed him the items I planned to sell today. He glanced at them.

“It’s going to be 1390 yen. I’ll get it ready, so wait a moment.”

He accurately guessed the amount and disappeared into the back. Quite impressive, he definitely seems like a seasoned veteran.

After a while, the middle-aged man returned with a 1000 yen bill, 500 yen coins, and something like a receipt… Hmm? What’s going on?

“As it’s your first dungeon, I’ll give you a little bonus to make it nice and even. Take it, it’s yours.”

“Oh, thank you very much.”

“I also prepared a receipt, so don’t lose it. There may be taxes associated, just so you know.”

“Okay.”

Well, of course, income is income, whether it’s entertainment or not. It’s just that it’s not treated as a labor act under the law, but you still need to file a tax return.

…But how do they manage income and expenses? Does the train pass count as an expense? I might have to look into it…

“Well, please continue to work with us in the future.”

“Yes, I’ll come again.”

Saying that, I was sent off with a smile by the middle-aged man. Now then, I’m going to take the train home, but I hesitate to carry my equipment outside as it is.

Technically, there are no bladed weapons in my current equipment, so it won’t violate any laws… but I’m a little conscious of other people staring. So, I decided to leave my equipment in the Dungeon Barricade. They have rental lockers for explorers who utilize bladed weapons as weapons (free to use with the presentation of an explorer’s ID), so I’ll make good use of it.

“Excuse me, I’d like to use a rental locker.”

“Oh, Mr. Onda, right? Rental locker application… could you place your explorer’s ID on this machine?”

“Sure.”

I told the receptionist at the entrance counter, and a display-equipped reader came out from behind the counter. I held my explorer’s ID, which was still in my wallet, against it. Despite having ICOA, it didn’t respond. Are the specifications different?

“Then, please use locker 510.”

“Understood.”

I then proceeded to the locker room. Large lockers, big enough to fit a person, are lined up tightly.

Now, locker 510… ah, there it is. Right at the front, lucky me.

To use it, I just need to touch my explorer’s ID to the sensor here… ah, it opened. I put all my equipment inside, and when closing it, I touch my explorer’s ID again… and there, it’s closed and locked.

Double-checking the door is important. Let’s confirm one more time… okay, it’s good.

“That’s it then.”

“Thank you for your hard work.”

I’m seen off by the receptionist as I leave the Dungeon Barricade.

…Now, it’s a bit before 2 PM. Ah, I’m hungry. Where should I eat before heading home?

After Onda left the Dungeon Barricade…

“Chief, do you have a moment?”

“Oh, it’s you, Sumikawa-san. Now, I’m just a guy from the exchange office, not the chief anymore.”

“…I apologize, Mr. Gondo.”

“That’s fine.”

A woman approached the guy at the exchange office. She had a sheathed long sword at her waist, wore a white chestplate, elbow pads, knee pads, and a small shield. With brown colored straight hair, she had a refined and intelligent look. Despite her slightly petite figure, it was clear through her undershirt that she was agile and well-trained. Her physical beauty exuded an almost artistic charm.

Her name was Arisa Sumikawa, a government explorer affiliated with the Dungeon Exploration Development Organization at the Kameoka Dungeon Barricade, officially known as the “Kameoka Labyrinth Development Bureau.” She was a former Self-Defense Force member.

Her abilities as an explorer were undoubtedly top-notch. During her time in the Self-Defense Force, she actively engaged in dungeon exploration, earning herself the nickname “Arisa of the Swift Wind,” a fitting title for someone with the Gift of “Swift as the Wind.”

“So, did something happen in the dungeon for you to come all the way here?”

“Yes.”

Speaking almost expressionlessly, Sumikawa, and the guy at the exchange office—actually the director of the Kameoka Labyrinth Development Bureau, Juharu Gondo—responded with an unchanged smile. They had known each other since their time in the Self-Defense Force, and Sumikawa’s way of approaching this kind of conversation indicated that the matter was important but not urgent.

“The man who left the development bureau earlier…”

“Oh, you mean the new guy. Well, dealing with Horn Rabbits and Black Bats on the first dungeon exploration is quite interesting.”

“He possesses the skills【Marvelous】and【Fantastic】.”

“…Huh.”

At Sumikawa’s words, Gondo’s expression momentarily turned serious.

【Marvelous】and【Fantastic】. These were codes only understood between the two of them. 【Marvelous】 referred to potions, and【Fantastic】referred to skills. In fact, Sumikawa had been watching everything. Utilizing her skill,【Concealment】, honed during her time in the Self-Defense Force, she silently observed Onda from the shadows.

She didn’t confirm that his skill was【Spatial Magic】, but practically everything else was exposed.

“So, Sumikawa, what kind of person does Explorer Onda seem to be from your perspective?”

“Well, despite being favored by luck, he’s fundamentally an ordinary person. However, he has a highly developed ability to digest and act on the information at hand, while taking the future into consideration. Also, his quick judgment in critical situations is quite remarkable. It might be rude to say this, but he generally gives the impression of a cautious person who knows his limits.”

“…I see, I see. That’s interesting.”

Gondo, who had completely returned to his usual demeanor, suddenly grinned. While he had a stern expression just a while ago, Sumikawa wondered why he was smiling now.

“What’s the matter, Mr. Gondo?”

“It’s rare for Sumikawa to praise someone.”

“…?”

“Well, if Sumikawa says that, then Explorer Onda should be fine. He won’t engage in reckless exploration, and even if he gains power in the future, he likely won’t deviate significantly from the path, I believe.”

Knowing that Sumikawa had a precise eye for people, Gondo was well aware of her abilities. If Sumikawa described Onda as “a person who is cautious and looks ahead,” then he was likely that kind of person.

“Well then, will he show up again tomorrow?”

“…Most likely.”

“Well, I’m looking forward to it.”

With Gondo fully back to his usual mood, Sumikawa let out a small sigh. He had always been someone whose thoughts were hard to understand, but she convinced herself that it wouldn’t lead to anything bad. Returning to her usual duties, Sumikawa once again entered the dungeon gate and headed straight to the lower levels. Now, how far will I go today… she thought, contemplating as she moved forward.


Author’s Note:

With this, the short but complete Chapter 1 concludes.

As for Chapter 2, I’m currently in active preparation. I would be grateful if you could wait patiently until the next update.

To all the readers, thank you very much for choosing to read my novel among the many on Narou.

I have a request for all the readers.

I would like to receive your honest evaluations, so please give a rating by clicking the star at the bottom of the page.

Even a single star is fine, so please, I kindly ask for your support.

Previous Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 1-5: Ears on the Walls and Eyes on the Doors

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started