Chapter 2-1: The intertwining of fates, or…?

“Here I am again today…”

The day after successfully debuting as an explorer, I found myself back at Horii Station. I got here using my freshly purchased six-month commuting pass.

Yesterday, after returning home, I searched online and found information stating that dungeon exploration, while considered entertainment, is recognized as a legitimate business expense. Initially, this wasn’t accepted, but at some point, it became officially recognized. Some sort of adult reasoning must have come into play. It definitely makes it convenient for me and other explorers.

With that in mind, I decided to purchase a six-month commuting pass. I discreetly stored the receipt, as it would serve as proof of expenses, in my item box. In the end, the item box is just too convenient…

However, since I can’t use the item box too openly, I brought the largest backpack I could find for transporting dropped items. I was thinking I wouldn’t need the backpack until I picked up some potions… but it’s indeed really hard to predict.

“Now, should I enter?”

Although I got lost on the road just yesterday, today I easily reached the Dungeon Barricade without any confusion. As usual, I opened the sturdy metal door.

Speaking of which, this door looks heavy, but it opens easily. I wonder if there’s some special mechanism involved?

“Welcome back to the Kameoka Dungeon, Mr. Onda.”

“Yes, I’m here again today. Here’s my explorer’s card.”

“Give me a moment… I have confirmed your card. Thank you very much.”

At the entrance counter, the same receptionist as yesterday welcomed me. I moved quickly to the locker room and retrieved my equipment.

…A staff, a robe, a shining shield, a bracelet, all combining into a fantasy outfit, and a very modern green backpack. I wonder how I look to others.

The only concern is whether the backpack will hold up against monster attacks. Well, if it tears, it is what it is.

“Um… Excuse me.”

Did somebody call for me? I turned to the direction of the faint voice. However, it seems that I wasn’t ultimately the target.

There was a woman in front of the entrance counter. Although I could mostly see her back, she seemed to be talking to the receptionist.

“Welcome to the Kameoka Dungeon. May I ask for the purpose of your visit?”

“Um, it’s my first time exploring a dungeon… Oh, this is my explorer’s card.”

The woman timidly took out what seemed to be an explorer’s card and placed it on the counter. The receptionist, after looking at the card, seemed momentarily puzzled for some reason, but quickly returned to a business smile.

Certainly, she is a tall woman. Regardless of jeans, she’s wearing a thin jacket despite the lingering cold. Although I’m exactly 175 centimeters tall, she’s about the same height. With short hair, she looks somewhat like a beautiful boy… I won’t say where, but her heavy armor makes it clear that she’s a woman. Well, it’s impolite to stare too much, so I consciously avoid staring and quickly prepare to enter the dungeon.

“Explorer’s card… Yes, I have confirmed it. For those exploring the dungeon for the first time, we provide a special item that can be turned into equipment. Please wait a moment, and I’ll bring it to you.”

“Uh, sure.”

After finishing the preparations and returning to the counter, I noticed the woman behind me. She had a somewhat uneasy look as she watched the receptionist disappear into the back space.

Soon, the receptionist returned with weapon orbs, armor orbs, and accessory orbs.

“What are these… orbs?”

“Yes, these are ‘equipment orbs’ found in the dungeon. The principle is unknown, but when you concentrate on the orb, it changes into a red one for weapons, blue for armor, and yellow for accessories. The higher the number inside, the higher the performance of the equipment.”

“I see…”

The receptionist repeated the same explanation I received, smoothly. While she was talking, I started heading towards the dungeon gate.

“Oh, perfect timing. Excuse me, Mr. Onda, can you wait a moment?”

“Oh, sure.”

I was called back by the receptionist, so I waited on the spot. The woman picked up the three orbs and closed her eyes.

The orbs turned into white light and transformed into equipment. After fully transforming, she had a full metal spear on her back, a large shield made of metal covering her body, and a type of metal armor that looked very durable.

“Wow…”

The same word escaped both my and the woman’s mouths simultaneously. The woman’s appearance was that of a spear warrior, with a simple yet powerful look. In that case, the gift is likely to be oriented towards a vanguard type role.

“Equipment orbs are said to transform into shapes that match the aptitude of the person. Akane Kuga, your gift is probably a vanguard type—more specifically, a warrior type gift is highly likely.”

Yeah, I think so too.

…And the receptionist’s gaze turned towards me.

“And Mr. Onda here. He debuted as an explorer yesterday, specializing in magic. Kuga-san is likely a vanguard type—probably a frontline warrior. How about forming a temporary party for this trip? It’s fine just for this occasion, what do you guys think?”

“Hello, I’m Takayoshi Onda.”

Staring directly into Kuga Akane’s eyes, I greeted her. With black hair and black eyes, and a short hairstyle, it might not stand out much, but she had a well-defined, Japanese-beautiful face. If she grew her hair longer, she would probably exude the atmosphere of a Japanese young lady.

“Nice to meet you, I’m Akane Kuga. Um…”

“Oh, sorry. I apologize if I’m staring too much”

“Oh, no. It’s alright, I don’t particularly mind”

“Understood, Kuga-san.”

“…I’m sorry. I don’t really like being addressed by my last name.”

“Oh, I see. Then, how should I address you?”

“Just ‘Akane’ is fine; no need for formalities. You’re older than me anyway, right, Onda-san?”

“That’s likely the case though I haven’t achieved much. I’m not anyone special. Well, if Akane-san prefers it, we can talk casually. And, you can just speak casually to me as well.”

“…Really? Okay then, I’ll speak casually too, Onda-san.”

Well, it seems like we’re off to a good start. Considering it’s our first meeting, things are going rather smoothly. People debuting as explorers don’t need to clash unnecessarily.

“Alright, shall we enter the dungeon right away?”

“Yes, understood.”

The two of us walked together towards the dungeon gate. Akane-san hesitated for a moment in front of the purple gate, but then, as if making up her mind, she took a breath and dove in. Following her, I passed through the purple mist.

“Wow, the cave is this vast just a step in. There was no space behind the gate, but after entering, there is so much space inside. Dungeons are indeed very mysterious.”

Akane-san exclaimed while looking around.

Well, she’s definitely right. You instantly teleport from a sterile concrete building to a cave that looks natural. Dungeons are indeed filled with mysteries.

“…Huh?”

Hmm? Oh, it’s appeared.

“You received a Gift, right? My Gift is called【Qualification Master】… What about Akane-san?”

“Um, I’m a【Magic Spearman】.”

【Magic Spearman】, huh? It’s likely a Gift that enhances proficiency in handling spears. But why the word “Magic”?

“Well, the effects are… I get stronger when utilizing a spear, and I can learn special techniques. I can use magic too, but the effects significantly decrease unless I use the spear in a way that involves enchanting it with flames or something along those lines.”

“I see.”

Using magic with a spear, huh? It seems suitable for physical enhancement type magic and enchantment type magic.

“By the way, what effects does Onda-san’s【Qualification Master】consist of?”

“Oh, my Gift is…”

I briefly explained the effects of【Qualification Master】. Since we’re temporarily forming a party, Akane-san’s national qualifications should also be subject to the reduction of mana consumption…

“Oh, then does this also count as a national qualification?”

Ane-san took out her smartphone and showed me an image.

“…’Second-class Kimono Dressing Technician’?”

There was an image of a certificate that read “Second-class Kimono Dressing Technician.”

Kimono dressing… dressing? Is that about putting on and taking off kimonos? Wait, there’s a national qualification for that?

“…It indeed exists.”

When I searched【Qualification Master】, it was indeed there – Second-class Kimono Dressing Technician. It’s a national qualification; I had no idea.

Qualification Name: Second-class Kimono Dressing Technician

Effect: Able to use enchantment magic, reduce any attribute damage by half (can be reset after one hour)

Enchantment magic, huh… While it’s unfortunate that I can only benefit from it when in a party with Akane-san, I don’t have available slots right now, so it’s not like it would have mattered anyways.

“By the way, what’s that blue thing over there?”

“Oh, that.”

Akane-san’s curiosity is already directed at the Blue Slime, an assassin from the dungeon.

“That’s a Blue Slime, the weakest monster in the dungeon.”

“One second, let me try defeating it real quick” 

“Wait, hold on!”

Without waiting, Akane-san rushes towards the Blue Slime with her spear and without stopping, she thrust her spear into the Blue Slime. Thanks to the effects of【Magic Spearman】, her physical abilities seemed to have increased, and before I knew it, she had pierced the slime with her spear.

After its health reached zero, the Blue Slime, pierced through, melted and disappeared.

“First monster defeated.”

“…Yeah, that’s right. By the way, is the spear okay?”

“Spear…?”

Akane-san then directed her gaze towards the spear and her face gradually tensed.

“Eh, what… why!?”

“Ah, well, it can’t be helped.”

White smoke rose from the part where the blue, gel-like substance was attached to the spear. Perhaps because she quickly swung the spear to remove the gel, the damage seemed minimal, but…

“Ugh, it kinda melted part of the spear…”

“…”

The tip of the spear seemed a bit uneven. For now, there doesn’t seem to be any issues with its sharpness or strength, but it’s definitely not something that should be repeated.

“The body of the Blue Slime is highly acidic and also, its drop item is only worth 10 yen, so attacking it with a physical weapon isn’t the best course of action. Which is I was going to tell you to stop…”

“…I’m sorry.”

“Ah, well. Nobody got hurt, so it’s fine.”

Picking up the Blue Slime’s magic stone, I couldn’t help but wryly smile at Akane-san, who looked clearly dejected.

“If you want to try using your abilities, it might be better on the next floor. The monsters are a bit tougher, though.”

“…I’ll do that. I’ll definitely earn back the cost of this weapon today!”

A thousand yen, huh. If she fights for about 20 minutes on the second floor, she should be able to earn it back…

Oh, right, I forgot something important.

“Akane-san, there’s something I’d like to decide beforehand.”

“Hmm, what is it?”

“It’s in regards to the distribution of today’s earnings. I’m thinking of splitting it fifty-fifty; is that okay with you?”

“That’s fine. In fact, with that, it should be more beneficial for me. Onda-san, are you okay with that?”

“Sure, it’s more troublesome to argue over something like that.”

“Then, let’s go with fifty-fifty.”

That settled that issue quickly.

“Well then, shall we go to the second floor?”

“Yes, let’s go.”

Ignoring the other Blue Slimes, we headed straight for the stairs to the second floor. Now, let’s see how far Akane-san can go against Horn Rabbits and Black Bats.

Previous Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 2-1: The intertwining of fates, or…?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started