MDLCM Chapter 10

 I looked for Connie first thing in the morning the next day. Bridget had already packed her bags and left early.

 When I told her what had happened, Connie was surprised.

   She said, “Did you hear about who this person might be?”

   “No, I didn’t ask. I didn’t feel like asking.”

 Connie looked up at the heavens in dismay.

   “Why would you not? Is it true that she is in love with someone else in the first place? Couldn’t there be some other reason?”

   “…For example?”

   “For example, she might feel responsible for the knife incident the other day. She’s a very serious person after all.”

 It’s possible, but would that have caused her to breach the contract?

   “Or maybe you’ve done something?”

   “No, I didn’t do anything.”

   “Isn’t it because you haven’t done anything, boy?”

 I was startled when Miranda suddenly interrupted me. She’s obviously angry.

   “Miranda, you knew?”

   “Of course I knew it was a contract marriage. But I thought you two might become a real couple one day. You seemed to get along very well.”

 Ray had his head in his hands. He thought he was doing well, too.

 After that, the three of them continued to think about the factors that caused Bridget to leave, but there was no answer.

 Connie sighed as if she had given up.

   “…But it was originally assumed that you two would break up, so isn’t it good for both of you that this happened? The original goal has been achieved, and I don’t think your mother will be pestering you for a while.”

 That’s for sure. I thought that if it didn’t work out, I would breach the contract myself, and I told Bridget that when we signed the contract, and she had nodded her head.

 But that’s not good enough.

 I can’t imagine her being gone from the house anymore.

 ♦︎

 Distressed, Ray visited his grandmother. She was the fortune-teller who had first recommended his connection with Bridget.

   “I knew you’d come, Ray,”

 My grandmother, who was very sought after by clients, was home today. If she wasn’t there, I was going to wait until she had returned.

 My grandmother had set up a room in her mansion dedicated to her fortune-telling business, and the room was extremely dark. It was filled with unidentifiable medicines and plants, which I used to dread as a child.

   “You were the first to suggest that I should get involved with Miss Bridget. Have you already lost your connection to her?”

 My grandmother sighed and patted the crystal ball in her hand.

   “I told you to make every effort not to run away. You’re no good, aren’t you?”

 The words of my grandmother, who had always been strict, stung me, but I couldn’t afford to be frightened.

   “She told me that she had found someone else that she loved. But everything was working out well until she said that. I don’t have any idea what might have happened.”

   “Well, what do you want to do?”

 Ray pondered when asked by his grandmother.

 Having Bridget in my life made me enjoy every day and I wished I could spend more time with her.

 She is serious, hard working, humorous, but not perfect. She’s so hard on herself that she feels vulnerable at times.

 I want to support her. I feel compelled to bear some of the heavy load that she carries. If she’s in danger, I want to protect her.

   “…I want to continue to live in harmony with her.”

   “Then I don’t have to use my powers to tell your fortune. Tell her.”

 With that, Ray’s grandmother kicked him out of her room.

 Once Ray was chased away by his grandmother, he returned home and changed into formal attire.

 He wore a black robe, which was superior to his usual one, over a magician’s ceremonial dress that resembled a knight’s uniform. Over the top of the robe, he wore a large bib necklace with magic stones that hung around his neck.

 He then put on a ring with the family crest, similar to the one he had given to Bridget, and prepared his staff.

 Formal attire was only worn during formal ceremonies and when going into battle as a magician, and was very rarely worn.

 Connie shuddered as she saw Ray’s appearance and felt the tense atmosphere around him as he came out of the room.

   “What happened at your Grandmother’s place? Are you going to war?”

 Ray chuckled.

   “Something like that”

 ♢

 It was past her usual work hours and it was dark outside, but Bridget was working quietly.

 She was living in her quarters until she would go to pick up her things when she was free. The thought of Ray made her sad, so she thought she would try to distract herself by working and not worry about anything else for a while.

 As I was about to stretch out and start doing the paperwork again, the window behind my seat made a knocking sound.

 I turned around and almost screamed.

 A very grim-faced Ray was standing in the dark, looking at me through the window.

 I thought it was a ghost.

 My heart started pounding in surprise. I told my group’s members that I’d be taking a short break and went outside.

 Unlike usual, he was wearing a tight robe and a fancy necklace around his neck. He also carried a cane, which I had never seen before.

 His brow was wrinkled, and he stood there with a scary look on his face, as if he was going to kill someone. Could it be that I am the one who will be killed?

   “…Ray, is something wrong?”

 Ray stared at Bridget, with a scary face. The scary face of a handsome man is much more powerful than that of a normal person.

   “I’ve come here to propose to you…”

   “…What?”

 Bridget froze in astonishment.

 Did he mention a marriage proposal? Is there anyone who proposes with such a scary face?

   “…I’ve enjoyed every day since you came to my home… and I don’t want you to leave. I want to get rid of the contract we made in the beginning and become a real couple.”

 Ray looked angry, but his cheeks were reddening. Bridget understood exactly what he meant.

   “I’m only good at magic, I’m a simple person inside, and I’m not very smart, but I want to help you in your times of need. …Although you might not need it.”

 Bridget felt her face starting to get hot. She also felt her heart pounding with joy.

   “So, you see,”

   “…Yes”

   “Who is that guy you were talking about that you said you loved?”

   “Yes?”

   “I’m up to the challenge.”

   “What?”

 Ray clutched his wand and looked at Bridget with a serious face.

 Ray was the best magician in the country. The other day when the knife incident happened, I realized that he is really a strong person.

   “Who would be able to beat you?”

   “If the person is a worthy sorcerer, I won’t hold back, but if not, I won’t use magic.”

 In other words, Ray is probably trying to fight this “love interest” in this conspicuous outfit.

 Bridget felt warm and fidgety inside. Ray was proposing to her in his own unique and strange way.

 I’m very happy that Ray feels the same way I do.

   “It’s Ray, my favorite person,”

 When Bridget said so clearly, Ray’s mouth fell open and he froze.

   “I’m sorry that I violated the contract. I’m sorry I fell for you.”

   “…Um, really? No, I don’t seriously intend to harm the other man.”

 Ray thought that Bridget was worried about the other man and thought he was lying to her. Ray scowled and Bridget couldn’t help but laugh.

   “It’s true. Well, I guess Ray will have to fight himself.”

 Ray’s brows loosened, and he looked flustered. I could see that his cheeks were reddening like mine.

   “…So, will you call off our contract marriage and become a real couple with me…?”

 Bridget laughed when she saw Ray timidly holding out his right hand for a handshake.

 It was a handshake that would signify that the marriage proposal was accepted. This would mean that they were not bound in a contractual marriage anymore.

 Bridget ignored the offered right hand and hugged Ray.

   “Of course! Thank you for your continued support.”

 Ray froze again when he was hugged, but quickly put his arms around Bridget’s back and hugged her tightly.

   “Thank you. I’m so happy.”

 Instantly, there was a round of applause and they were both startled.

 They had completely forgotten where they were. The auditors were peeking out of the windows of the office building, clapping and whistling and laughing.

 They were far enough from the building where their conversation would be able to be heard, but they were seen embracing each other.

 Ray and Bridget were so embarrassed that they covered their faces with their hands to hide their reddened cheeks.

 ♢

 After showing off their embrace at the Audit Office, Bridget and Ray went home with Bridget’s group members urging her to go home as soon as possible.

 The team members seemed to think that the newlyweds had made up from their lover’s quarrel.

 After realizing the situation, Miranda hugged Bridget with tears in her eyes and slapped Ray on the back like she was crazy.

 Connie also smiled and surreptitiously whispered to Bridget,

   “I was worried about what happened to you when you walked out looking so grim, but I’m so glad it worked out.”

   “Yes, I was scared. I thought I was going to be killed.”

 Connie laughed and nodded as Bridget jokingly cowered her shoulders.

 Later, when Ray reported to his grandmother, she demanded that Ray must buy her sweets from the baked goods shop in the port town as a reward. She said that they were only available in the main store in the port town.

 So, the two of them, planned to go on another honeymoon through the port town.

 Before that, they decided to have a wedding.

 Since they were getting married, Bridget insisted on seeing Ray in his wedding uniform.

 Normally, Ray thought it would was the other way around, but Bridget insisted, so he agreed.

 ♢

 On a sunny, sunny day, the two of them invited only their family members to the ceremony.

 Due to the lack of time, the wedding dress was just a ready-made dress with a few alterations, but when Ray saw Bridget’s appearance, he squinted.

   “You look so beautiful,”

   “Thank you for the ‘thoughtful words.’”

   “I really do think so.”

 They looked at each other and laughed, remembering that they had had a similar exchange before.

   “Ray…, I’m so dazzled, I’m afraid my eyes are going to go blind.”

   “…I’ll take that as a compliment.”

 Not only did Bridget’s parents and brother who were in attendance stare at Ray as if they had seen a ghost, but even the priest was staring at Ray with a smile on his face.

 Ray’s parents were also happy to attend. Ray’s father gave his congratulations again, so I guess he already knew that the previous marriage was contractual.

 In the midst of the priest’s words, Bridget sneaked a glance at Ray next to her. The light glinting off his long, downcast eyelashes was beautiful.

 It was only a contractual marriage in the beginning, but Bridget honestly thought that she was glad to share each other’s feelings.

 Bridget was free to choose whether to marry or not marry, and even if she didn’t, she would probably still enjoy her days as an auditor.

 But the days ahead with Ray should be fun too, and she felt very happy thinking about that.

 Ray noticed that she was stealing glances at him and their eyes met, and he smiled gently at her, and Bridget smiled back.

 Then, prompted by the priest’s words, they shared their first kiss.

   “The End.”

   (T.L. Note: Thanks for reading guys, I had a blast translating this novel, and I hope you all enjoyed it as much as I did. I’ll be starting to work on a longer novel as per the request of nameless from the discord, so be sure to check it out when it does come out. In the meanwhile, go ahead and also check out our discord, which is located on the top bar of the website. Once again, thanks for reading all, and I will see you all when I start the new series! ~Serenate)

Previous

5 thoughts on “MDLCM Chapter 10

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started