Prologue: Sudden Bankruptcy, Sudden Unemployment… But, is it really as sudden as it sounds?

Everything began with that detestable piece of paper.

[Bankruptcy.]

I had almost believed it to be a crude joke, but the evidence was staring me in the face. The shutter at the entrance of the office, which should usually be open, was closed and a laminated A3 paper with the words “Bankruptcy” written boldly was stuck on the shutter.

I couldn’t help but kick the shutter repeatedly. Despite working overtime for hundreds of hours a month without overtime pay and, more recently, delays in salary payments, I had desperately worked for the sake of the company. Only to be betrayed like this.

I tried calling the president and others to understand what was going on, but there was no answer. They had unilaterally cut me off.

… Well, I can’t just keep feeling sorry for myself. 

I went to the Hello Work office to apply for unemployment benefits. To my surprise, they said I needed a “resignation certificate.” It seemed that I had to get it issued by the company, but with no way to contact them, what could I do?

They said that while Hello Work could handle it to some extent, I would need to consult the labor standards office due to the shadiness of the situation. In the end, I couldn’t immediately apply for unemployment benefits.

…Honestly, if I didn’t have savings, I would have been done for. I’ve never been more grateful for being someone with little material desires than I am right now.

As I was about to leave Hello Work with a heavy heart, my eyes wandered to a poster attached to a pillar.

—“Get pumped and join us as an Explorer!! We’re recruiting now!

—Independent Administrative Institution, Labyrinth Exploration Development Organization

Explorers, huh? About three years ago, mysterious labyrinths suddenly appeared all over the world. These labyrinths, called “Dungeons,” were like fantasy worlds in themselves.

Even though they were underground, there were expansive grasslands, monsters like Blue Slimes and Goblins attacking, and random treasure chests appearing… There were inexplicable phenomena happening in the dungeons that couldn’t be explained by existing laws.

The most notable were “Skills” and “Gifts.”

Skills could be obtained in the dungeons using items called “Skill Scrolls.” Various abilities like magic, detection, and appraisal, typical fantasy elements, could be realized with skills.

By the way, there seemed to be no status window, but skills could grow with use, so the consensus was that they had levels even though they couldn’t be confirmed.

On the other hand were Gifts. While Gifts were similar to Skills, the difference was that they had much more powerful effects, and the opportunity to obtain them was a one-time thing when entering a dungeon for the first time.

Moreover, the contents of the Gifts were diverse and unique. There were ones that were intuitive and powerful, as well as those that were quirky and difficult-to-handle duds.

Looking at the striking poster, I couldn’t help but think that trying to become an explorer might be a good idea. I’m still only 34, and although I’m not in the best shape, I can move my body reasonably well, and I can quit anytime if I want. I’ve always been interested in becoming an explorer anyway.

Strike while the iron is hot, right? Now… how do I become an explorer?

…Oh, according to the poster, I can apply at Hello Work and get an explorer’s certificate issued? Moreover, they seem to be accepting any applicants, probably because they’re eager to gather a certain number of explorers. Well, Japan seems to be quite behind in dungeon exploration compared to other countries, so they’re probably desperate to catch up. 

I think the dungeons were opened to the public around the beginning of this year. Until then, only Self-Defense Force members could enter the dungeons, but it seems they had limited success due to a lack of manpower.

Therefore, a new independent administrative agency, the “Labyrinth Exploration Development Organization,” was established to open and regulate the use of dungeons by the public. It’s been only about two months since then, but there have been significant achievements compared to the two and a half years where the Self-Defence Force had a monopoly.

“Excuse me, I’d like to apply for the issuance of an explorer’s certificate.”

“All right. Please fill out the necessary information on this application form.”

“Yes.”

I took the provided application form and moved to the writing desk.

Name… Onda Takayoshi, Age… 34, Address… although it’s technically within the city, should I write Kyoto Prefecture?

Then, phone number, work history, and… there’s no space to write reasons for applying or appeal points. It’s much easier and less time-consuming than an entry sheet or resume.

I completed it in about 10 minutes and brought it back to the reception.

“Here you go.”

“Thank you. Please allow me to review your application… All the necessary information is here. I’ll prepare your explorer’s certificate, so please wait for a moment. When it’s ready, I’ll call you.”

“Thank you.”

I sat on the provided sofa and waited.

In about 5 minutes, my name was called, so I went to the counter.

“Here is your explorer’s certificate. Please make sure not to lose it.”

“Thank you.”

I received the explorer’s certificate. It had a simple design engraved in white plastic, but when you changed the viewing angle, a rainbow pattern emerged, giving it a somewhat luxurious feel. It was the same size as the qualification card I had, so I put it in my wallet for now.

“This is a map of dungeons in the Kinki region and a brochure for novice explorers. Please take a look.”

“Thank you.”

As for the novice explorer’s brochure, I’ll read it carefully later… For now, let’s take a look at the map of dungeons in the Kinki region. Now, which is the closest place?

“Kameoka, huh?”

Kameoka City, located northwest from Kyoto Station. People who know Kameoka City probably include those who love leisure, soccer fans, and locals. There are quite a few attractions such as Hozugawa River Boating, the Torokko Train, and a soccer stadium, but unless you’re a leisure enthusiast, soccer fan, or a local resident, you might not be familiar with it.

The dungeon is apparently located near the Horii Station in Kameoka City, right next to the station. But at this station, the rapid train doesn’t stop… Moreover, it’s a place that’s quite inconvenient to reach by car… though I don’t even have a car.

On the other hand, the next closest dungeon seems to be in the central part of Nara. It’s not a distance you can easily go on a whim. Dungeons really seem to be located in difficult places.

“…Well, I might as well go to Horii station”

Horii Station is associated with the Sagano Line. Recently, there has been some congestion due to the return of tourists, but I decided to go on Tuesday at 10am anyway.

It seems that I had enough room in my train car to fully open the pamphlet without inconveniencing the other passengers. I was lucky that there was enough space despite the train being so busy recently.

“I’ve arrived.”

Not many people get off at the Horii Station. Most get off at the next Kameoka Station, or two stations back at Saga Arashiyama Station, which is overwhelmingly more popular.

Despite being the nearest station to the Dungeon, it’s surprisingly quiet. The side with the ticket gate leads to a residential area, while the opposite side is surrounded by a rich natural landscape. Is there really a Dungeon here…?

Silent, I look around from the platform. My last visit was about five years ago, and apart from the addition of a road along the railway tracks, not much seems to have changed.

“Could it be… that?”

In the midst of nature, I found a concrete structure that didn’t seem to blend in with the landscape at all. Since it matches the map and location, that must be the Dungeon Barricade—the building covering the entrance to the Dungeon.

“Should I go check it out?”

At this distance, it shouldn’t take more than a 5-minute walk.

There was a time when I thought that way too.

“I couldn’t find a way to cross the tracks…”

It took a bit of effort to find a way to cross to the other side of the tracks, and before I knew it, more than 10 minutes had passed. Well, I’ve memorized the path, so I should be fine on the return trip.

“Oh, is this it…?”

I look up at the building, involuntarily sighing. It’s a concrete structure that seems to have been hastily made just to enclose something dangerous, lacking any design appeal. There’s something about it that gives off a dangerous aura…

…Ah, I see, it doesn’t have windows. The door is also a sturdy metal one. At that time, the existence of the Dungeon must have been terrifying. That’s probably why it’s still referred to as the “Dungeon Barricade.”

Alright, let’s go inside.

“Welcome to the Kameoka Dungeon.”

“Ah, thank you. Here’s my Explorer Card.”

“Yes, I have confirmed it. Welcome to the dungeon, Explorer.”

I presented my Explorer Card to the receptionist and entered. The inside of the building was cleaner than I expected, with a modern-looking counter where the receptionist was located, separate dressing rooms for men and women, a restroom, a waiting area, vending machines, and more. The overall atmosphere was brightened by warm-colored lights which gave me a sense of relief.

At the center of the building, there was a void, and at its bottom was…

“Is that the Dungeon Gate?”

It’s hard to describe… It looked like a magical frame made of metallic material, with a purple, mist-like substance hovering  like a magical curtain on the inside. It seemed that passing through that mist would lead into the Dungeon.

I’ve seen something similar somewhere… Oh, right. It’s kind of like a Nether Portal in Minecraft, but instead of obsidian, the frame is made of a metallic material. Quite a clever touch, it really seems like a portal to another world.

Now, before I head into the dungeon…

Entering the Dungeon empty-handed is dangerous, so I need equipment. Most weapons violate the Swords and Firearms Control Law, which results in a slew of legal issues. Although there’s a special exception allowing possession inside this building, it’s still very inconvenient as you cannot bring your own weapons from outside the dungeon.

While you could bring bamboo swords and wooden swords from outside, their attack power was questionable at best. According to the pamphlet, if I declare an equipment request at the counter inside the Dungeon Barricade, they will provide me with equipment…

“Excuse me. I just became an Explorer today, and I need equipment.”

“I see, equipment, right? Please wait a moment.”

The receptionist quickly grasped what I was asking for and disappeared into the back room. Do I need to go with her to provide my sizes and preferences?

As I waited, the woman returned, holding…

“Pearls?”

Red, blue, and yellow pearls were placed in her hands, each with the number “1” floating inside. The pearls looked just like lightly colored marbles… hmm?

Wait… did the number on the yellow marble just flicker?

Although I rubbed my eyes thinking that I must have been seeing things, the number “1” remained in the marble. It must have been my imagination.

“That’s a ‘Equipment Pearl’ found in the Dungeon. The principle is unknown, but by focusing on the pearl, it changes into a weapon for red, armor for blue, and an accessory for yellow. The higher the number inside, the higher the performance of the equipment.”

“I see…”

“It is said that the equipment obtained suits the individual’s nature the most. For the first time, it’s a free service, so please use it.”

Alright, now let’s focus on each pearl as she explained.

(Grant me the power to overcome monsters.)

In an instant, the three pearls emitted a white light, enveloping me.

After a while, the light subsided, and I found myself equipped with gear.

In my right hand, a wooden staff. At the tip of the staff was a white gem-like object, fixed as if entwined with the wood. This must be the transformed red Equipment Pearl.

Over my clothes, a black robe without a hood. It looked exactly like something a wizard would wear. This should be the blue Equipment Pearl transforming into armor.

Then, in my left hand, a shield-like object emitting a faint light. This must be the yellow Equipment Pearl transformed into an accessory, treated as a shield.

…But it’s a peculiar shield. The main body, presumably made of metal, is smaller than the palm of my hand. However, the light emanating from it forms the shape of a proper shield, covering a large area in front of me. Since I can hardly feel its weight, maybe the light is weightless.

“I see, magical-type equipment. If that’s the case, there’s a high possibility that the Gift you obtain will also be in the magical category.”

“Magic, huh?”

“Yes.”

Alright, I guess I’m a magical type. Certainly, directly attacking monsters with a sword doesn’t sit well with me… whether it is mind, skill, or body, I have no confidence in any of them.

Please, Dungeon, make sure my Gift is a proper magic type, okay?

“Well then, good luck.”

“Thank you.”

Leaving the counter, I headed towards the Dungeon Gate. After descending about 50 steps of stairs, I finally reached the place where the Gate was located.

“Beyond this point is the Dungeon…”

I took a deep breath.

Alright, I’ve made up my mind. Passing through the purple mist, I entered the Dungeon with a mysterious sensation.

Immediately after, a flat, mechanically-toned voice echoed in my mind.

— Gift【Qualification Master】has manifested.

“…【Qualification Master】?”


◇□◇□◇ To All Readers ◇□◇□◇

Thank you very much for choosing to read my novel among the many on Narou.

I have a request for all readers.

I would appreciate your honest assessment, so please provide a rating at the bottom of the page.

Even a ☆1 is fine, so I kindly ask for your support.

Next

2 thoughts on “Prologue: Sudden Bankruptcy, Sudden Unemployment… But, is it really as sudden as it sounds?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started